New GOP Speaker Mike Johnson

CNN KFILE: GOP House speaker Mike Johnson once wrote in support of the criminalization of gay sex, calling it a “dangerous lifestyle”

Get to know the new GOP speaker Mike Johnson, because being a superstitious fundamentalist Christian is still viewed as conducive to wise leadership:

  • James Michael Johnson (born January 30, 1972) is an American politician who is the 56th and current speaker of the United States House of Representatives. A member of the Republican Party, Johnson is currently in his fourth term representing Louisiana’s 4th congressional district, first being elected in 2016. Johnson is a graduate of Louisiana State University and of Louisiana State’s Paul M. Hebert Law Center. Before entering politics, he worked as an attorney in private practice; worked for the conservative Christian legal advocacy group Alliance Defending Freedom; and founded Freedom Guard, a nonprofit legal ministry designed to represent Christian clients in lawsuits. Johnson was a member of the Louisiana House of Representatives from 2015 to 2017. He was first elected to represent Louisiana’s 4th congressional district in 2016. Johnson served as chair of the Republican Study Committee, the largest caucus of conservatives in Congress, from 2019 to 2021, and as Vice Chair of the House Republican Conference from 2021 to 2023. Johnson is a member of the Christian right faction of the Republican Party. He is known for contesting the results of the 2020 presidential election on the House floor and in court, supporting a nationwide ban on abortion, and supporting overturning Obergefell v. Hodges, which found laws banning same-sex marriage unconstitutional. He has close ties to the Protestant Christian organizations Answers in Genesis, Focus on the Family, and Family Research Council. Johnson is also a professor at Liberty University. On October 25, 2023, following the ouster of Kevin McCarthy from the speakership, Johnson was elected as the 56th Speaker of the House. He is the first speaker to have been elected from Louisiana and the shortest-tenured representative to be elected Speaker since John G. Carlisle in 1883. (wiki)